esp6 ing6     WEBMAIL


PAS 55/ ISO 55000

Introduction to the ISO 55000 series of standards for asset management, based on the successes of PAS 55


In 2002-2004 the UK Institute of Asset Management, in conjunction with British Standards Institution, developed PAS 55, the first publicly available specification for optimized management of physical assets. This has proven very successful, with widespread adoption in utilities, transport, mining, process and manufacturing industries worldwide. The 2008 update (PAS 55:2008) was developed by 50 organisations from 15 industry sectors in 10 countries. The International Standards Organisation (ISO) then accepted PAS 55 as the basis for development of the new ISO 55000 series of international standards.

What is ISO 55000?

The ISO 55000 series will comprise three standards:

> ISO 55000 provides an overview of the subject of asset management and the standard terms and definitions to be used.

> ISO 55001 is the requirements specification for an integrated, effective management system for assets.

Note: 55001 defines requirements for a management system, in the same way as ISO 9001 specifies a quality management system, and ISO 14001 covers an environmental management system. ISO 55001 is not, therefore, a specification for an asset information management system (sometimes called "enterprise asset management" system). Such software systems are, however, recognised to be useful aids ('enablers') for good asset management.

> IS0 55002 provides guidance for the implementation of such a system.

For more  information: